top of page

Review: The Lost Vintage by Ann Mah



The Lost Vintage by Ann Mah

Published: June 19th, 2018

Genre: Contemporary Fiction


Rating: 4-stars


 

Thoughts


Listening to the audiobook of The Lost Vintage was a great medium for taking in this story. With the amount of French language used, I found hearing it was more impactive than physically reading it. But also, the narrator did a great job in general - which is hard for me to find since I am a very picky audiobook reader.


I don’t think I fully knew what to expect going into this book but I was very pleasantly surprised. It gave me Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society vibes whenever we flashed back to Kate’s ancestor’s story and her diary entries. I did find that I was more invested in that story than I was in the ‘current day’ with Kate’s work towards her master wine test and the faint memories/rekindling of romance between her and JL. That being said, it was interesting following the journey of her uncovering the details of her family history.


Normally, I tend to avoid dual time-line narratives but I didn’t realize this story included it until I was already invested and I was pleasantly surprised. Everything that happened in the 1940’s time-line was harrowing and intriguing. The tenseness of the family dynamics and resistance plots were definitely some of my favourite aspects.


I will certainly be reading more from Ann Mah.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page