top of page

Stay Home Reading Rush Read-a-thon!

I always enjoy a good reading challenge or read-a-thon and, recently, Ariel Bissett of Booktube fame announced a mini version of her annual Reading Rush (formerly called Booktubathon) Read-a-thon to help us through COVID-19. These read-a-thons always include book prompts (to help you pick your tbr) and challenges on various social media platforms to keep everyone engaged and enter their names into giveaways of fantastic goodies. Naturally, when I heard about the mini version of The Reading Rush I 100% knew I needed to participate. Check out the following link to watch Ariel’s official announcement where she breaks it down and gives all the details.


Now, normally, I would make a video response answering all the questions and announcing my tbr via my booktube channel but I haven’t made a video there for quite some time and I’m not exactly ready to get back into that media form so I’ve decided to do all of that here! Keep reading to hear my answers to the tag questions and what I will be reading based on the prompts. 1. How is your reading going while staying at home? I’ve been reading pretty much on and off the whole time. I go through stretches of time where I will read a book a day and then not read for a few days. I’m slowly working through my physical tbr because I have a LOT to read (check out this post for a picture of my tbr and read a bit about my thoughts on it) but I am a mood reader so sometimes I want to read a type of book that I don’t currently own which can bring on a mini slump. For the most part though, I think I have had a fairly successful reading routine.


2. Where have you been reading at home? There have been a few different places around the house that I have been getting in my reading depending on the weather and my mood. Most nights I will read in bed but if it’s a grey day I will curl up on the recliner with a tea & blanket and when it’s a warm, sunny day I sit out on the patio to try and get a bit of vitamin D. 3. Best book you’ve read during isolation? Thus far, I think I’ve most enjoyed reading The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala. I recently posted about my thoughts on it which you can check out here. It seemed to be the exact type of read that I was in the mood for and I didn’t even know it until I was hooked. 4. What’s your favourite feel-good book? I have many of these depending on my mood. A few of my go-tos though are Harry Potter (of course), Poison Study by Maria V Snyder, Wizards First Rule by Terry Goodkind, I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, Emma by Jane Austen and I really could go on and on. 5. Book you wish you could buy or borrow from the library? There are so many books releasing every week that I would love to be able to grab up but if I have to narrow it down to one, I would probably pick Flight Girls by Noelle Salazar. This book came out in 2019 and it wasn’t really on my radar until I saw it on HarperCollins’ March Madness lineup and I think it is right up my alley. It has strong female characters in a time where they weren’t seen as such, it has World War II, it has romance… totally something I’d enjoy. 6. Author you want to shout out during this time? I would probably shout out Kelley Armstrong. Not only is she a Canadian author (and local to me) but she has something that could appeal to pretty much everyone. She writes young adult, children’s lit, mystery/thriller, paranormal contemporary, just a very well-rounded backlist of books and is always entertaining. 7. What is your Reading Rush TBR? What a perfect opportunity to tell you about the prompts! *wink*

Stay Home Reading Rush Prompts (and my tbr) Read a book with a house on the cover. Read a book in the same room the whole time. Read a book set somewhere you would like to go. Read a book that will make you smile. Honestly, all of these prompts can be met with a single book on my tbr. Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan fits the bill to a T, it has a house on the cover, is set in England (which I am desperate to visit) and it is sure to make me smile as it is all about the relationship of C.S. Lewis and Joy Davidman. Now, in the event that I get through it quickly and need a second or third book, I have also chosen The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton (house on cover and also set in England) as well as Blame it on Paris by Laura Florand (have already visited Paris but it’s a chick-lit contemporary that is sure to make me smile).


If you are interested in participating in the Stay Home Reading Rush, be sure to follow the hashtag #StayHomeReadingRush, their Twitter, Instagram and Booktube where you can follow along with the daily challenges (you can win some OwlCrate goodies!) and be a part of the online reader community!

16 views0 comments
bottom of page