top of page

Review: Enjoy the View by Sarah Morgenthaler



Published: January 19th, 2021

Genre: Contemporary, Romance


Rating: 3-stars


 

Thoughts:


Something I always enjoy about the Moose Springs, Alaska books is that each one has it’s own definitive voice while managing to sprinkle in just the right amount of moments with main characters from previous books.


The setting of this book really helped to separate it from the others in the series as it is technically outside of Moose Springs for the most part which I thought was a great strategy to freshen up the series. The thought that went in to writing the setting and atmosphere accomplished exactly what it needed to and gave the sense of the risk and beauty that comes with climbing a mountain.


But I’m getting ahead of myself.


Our male protagonist is Easton, the big mountain-man with a soft heart who we were introduced to in The Tourist Attraction. Our female protagonist is River Lane, an out of work actress wanting to make a name for herself behind the lens instead of in front of it.


While I felt that the relationship progressed a bit quickly, I appreciated the attraction and banter they had for/with each other from the start. Instead of feeling too ‘insta-love,’ it simply felt natural for these two characters to have some mutual flirting from the start.


River is also a great addition to the ever-growing cast of characters. I’m not a fan of ‘famous’ characters but River was written far more down-to-earth than this character type usually gets. She can be considered reckless at times which could be seen as entitled or childish but, for her, it is more a trait that shows how desperate she is to be her own woman.


Morgenthaler also flushed out a few more side characters in this installment which gets me even more excited for the continuation of this series. I also hope we get more of Bree and Ben because his puppy-dog love for her is just too cute.


While I am not an expert on movie contacts or mountain-climbing, Morgenthaler was able to get across enough of the details so that I felt like it could be legitimate without feeling like I was being forcibly explained how these details work. It was informative enough to help flush out the story, naturally.


Overall, I enjoyed this installment and will always recommend these books to fans of contemporary series where each book follows different characters from a group of friends.


10 views0 comments
bottom of page