top of page

Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson - REVIEW


Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson

Publication Date: March 27th, 2012

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Genre: Historical Romance

 

Synopsis:

Marianne Daventry will do anything to escape the boredom of Bath and the amorous attentions of an unwanted suitor. So when an invitation arrives from her twin sister, Cecily, to join her at a sprawling country estate, she jumps at the chance. Thinking she'll be able to relax and enjoy her beloved English countryside while her sister snags the handsome heir of Edenbrooke, Marianne finds that even the best laid plans can go awry.


From a terrifying run-in with a highwayman to a seemingly harmless flirtation, Marianne finds herself embroiled in an unexpected adventure filled with enough romance and intrigue to keep her mind racing. Will Marianne be able to rein in her traitorous heart, or will a mysterious stranger sweep her off her feet? Fate had something other than a relaxing summer in mind when it sent Marianne to Edenbrooke.

 

Thoughts:

This was one of the sweetest and most pure books I have ever read. It is one of the closest, modernly released, books that made me feel like I was reading Jane Austen. Edenbrooke was an absolute joy to read.


I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of it until 2020 and I didn’t read it until 2021! Honestly, this ticked all of the boxes for me: rose-coloured lenses female MC; a fun, flirty, strong, secret cinnamon roll male MC; a beautiful sprawling country estate, wonderful character dynamics, love letter writing (never thought I needed it till now haha), and a dash of action.


There were even some tropes that were in here that I normally do not like but Donaldson made me love them in this book. My only issue was that Marianne was a little too flighty and fancy free with her twirling but that is such a minor nit-pick that really holds no weight at all.


I truly just want to gush about this book forever and want everyone to read it. I don't even know how to fully articulate how much I adored it. It made me giddy, it made me squee, the romance was breath-taking in the sweetest way… did I mention the love letter writing?? * chefs kiss *


Philip and Marianne are perfection.


This is a story that I will happily return to (I’ve already re-read it) and will certainly stay in my mind for many years to come.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page