top of page

5 Wintery Reads on my TBR!



Welcome to Blogmas/Bookmas Day 2!


I’ll be honest, I am not one who normally reads festive books. I’m not even someone who saves ‘wintery’ books to read them specifically in winter. It also seems that contemporary books tend to be wintery and I’ve only just started reading more contemporary in the last year or 2… which could explain my lack of not reading festive books normally.


That being said, I have ended up getting a few seasonal reads and feel that I would be remiss if I didn’t share them with you. I have 4 contemporary and 1 historical romance so, without further ado, let’s get to the books!


Eight Perfect Hours by Lia Louis

I have been seeing this one around the interwebs since it is a recent release and I could not pass it up because it sounds along the same lines as the movie Serendipity. Since Serendipity is one of my favourite holiday rom-coms, I need to give this book a shot.

It takes place in January when a blizzard throws 2 people together and they spend 8 perfect hours together. When the weather clears, they don’t expect to see each other again, but fate seems to keep throwing them together.


An Alaskan Christmas by Jennifer Snow

This one crossed my path semi-recently when I saw (I think) @kaleys23 share it in her Instagram stories. I only knew a few key words before I added it to my tbr since Kaley and I have similar reading tastes.

This one is the first in the Wild River series with the classic trope of woman and her best friends’ brother reuniting after years apart and - obviously - sparks fly. I’m in.


A Virgin River Christmas by Robyn Carr

This has been such a difficult find for me. It is book 4 in the Virgin River series and I can’t even remember when I read book 3 because it has been so long that I have been searching for this one. They keep switching up the covers and sizes and I need my collection to match. I’m fairly particular in that way haha. Now that the Netflix show has been out though, I hope these covers are the new standard.

In this installment, a widow comes to Virgin River to find the man who saved her late husbands life during his time in the marines. Finding him as a recluse in the town, they may be able to help each other find a new life and love together.


Enjoy the View by Sarah Morgenthaler

Another book in a series which I’ve had all year but have yet to read. What can I say? Sometimes I’m just not in the mood. That being said, I do have fun with these books. They are a little long for what they are, but still entertaining.

As it is the 3rd book in the Moose Springs, Alaska series, we are already fairly established with the characters. This one follows Easton’s story where he gets thrown together with an actress who comes to Moose Springs to reignite her career. He needs to help her survive the mountains and wild in her effort to prove herself and his frustration turns into romance.


Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas

I keep putting this one off because I’m not a huge fan of the ‘rake’ trope in historical romances but this one is the 3rd book in the Wallflower series and I hope to finish the quartet soon. I know I will have fun with this though because the relationship between the wallflowers is so entertaining.

In this installment, Evangeline is in need of a marriage of convenience with an infamous scoundrel. Together they strike a bargain and in the interim, an enemy from her past reappears and they must defy a perilous fate.


So there you have it. Five wintery reads that are on my tbr! Who knows if I will be able to get to them by the end of the year or at least by the end of the winter season.


Are any of these on your tbr or is there one you think I should get to first?


Pop on over to my Instagram tomorrow to see what my weekend reading plans are!


Until next time, keep reading!

bottom of page